Free Rides

Photo 1As a student at UT Dallas, I have the opportunity to get a free Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) pass, which allows me to explore Dallas to my heart’s content. The train routes are super easy to understand (even for someone as directionally challenged as I am), and the bus heading from the train station to UT Dallas and back (also free) runs until midnight!

By taking advantage of this resource, I was able to head to the Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) a couple of weeks ago. I got the amazing opportunity to meet one of my favorite authors of all time, Jonathan Safran Foer (author of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Everything is Illuminated, and Here I Am) at the Museum. In preparation for the event, I grabbed the three books that I wanted him to sign, and met up with a friend to take the DART. The DMA is only four blocks away from St. Paul station, and it took a little over an hour to get from campus to the DMA (including a brief stop at the Subway just behind the St. Paul station). Once we walked in, we saw that the auditorium was packed with people, so we hurried to find seats and eagerly anticipated the start of the program.

The talk exceeded expectations. I learned a lot about how Foer chooses his topics, how he mentors prospective authors, and who his role models were. It was funny, sweet, and inspirational, and as a creative writing minor myself, I was able to get some tips of fighting writers’ block and staying motivated. Of course, the best part was after the talk, when I got the chance to get my books signed. Honestly, his signatures are some of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen.

 

The talk and signing with Jonathan Safran Foer were part of a lecture series called Arts and Letters Live. Tons of other relevant and incredible authors are part of this summer/fall circuit (including Ken Follett in September!) so I definitely recommend checking it out!

 

Neha Singhneha-2016
B.S. Neuroscience
Class of 2018
The University of Texas at Dallas

Leave a Reply

